Schultz Plant Food Plus Review (my secret to a thriving plant)

a girl using a spray bottle of schultz plant food to mist on her plant

Sharing is caring!

Please note that this article contains affiliate links, and that means that I may earn a commission if you buy something.

If I had known about this very product sooner, my plants and my heart would be thriving to the max. 

I just love how easy and simple this product is. I no longer have to worry about forgetting to provide nutrients to my plant nor do I ever have to worry about whether or not my plants are getting enough of the essential nutrients. 

Schultz Plant Food Plus Review

Here’s my short list of why I am obsessed with Schultz plant food. I’ll get into more details below. 

  • It’s perfect for all types of plants, whether it be outdoor garden plants or indoor plants. I never have to worry about using the wrong one or accidentally mixing them up.
  • It’s there to support new growth for my plant babies
  • Ensures the roots will absorb all essential nutrients
  • I love how healthy my potted plants get after using it for rooting, repotting, or even transplanting them
  • It’s liquid based and so so easy to make. You only need 7 drops of Schult to a quart of water. Put in a spray bottle, and voila, you’re done. (Don’t worry, a measured dropper is included in the package)
  • Has the perfect ratio of nutrients that will allow plants to thrive

For the price, Schultz SPF45170 Purpose Liquid Plant Food 10-15-10 is totally worth the money. 

First, let’s compare Schultz Plant Food to this Miracle Gro’s Indoor Plant Food Spike since I’ve also heard many good things about it.

As nice and easy as the Miracle Gro’s Indoor Plant Food Spike sounds, it does not work as well as you would assume it would. You have no control over how much fertilization goes into the soil. It has also been said that the Food Spikes tend to create hot spots. Meaning that they only deliver nutrients to wherever they’re placed in the soil and not the entire pot.

I know what you’re thinking, maybe I can use more than one Spike then.

While it may sound like that would work, do keep in mind that that may cause a build up of excess salt due to too many Spikes being planted in.

a person spraying plant food, possibly schultz liquid plant food plus, onto a plant

And you would need to replace the Food Spikes every 30-60 days depending on the weather. Now, if there’s anything that I can’t do, it’s keeping track of anything and everything.

For your plant’s sake, and your heart, it is so much better for your plant to be under fertilized than overfertilized.

Why Schultz is the best plant food

You will not believe how much better my planting skills has gotten. I’m a mom to over 40 house plants and Schultz has made my life so much easier and my plants have been thriving ever since.

Sometimes I’ll add 2-3 drops in my watering canister and water the plants with it. Because I can control the amount I put in, I never have to worry about my fertilizer being too strong or the leaves burning if I overdo it.

And this also does wonders for propagation, especially with a plant cutting. Just add a few drops to the water and voila, let Schultz work its magic. It may just be me, but I’ve also noticed that the roots tend to grow a lot faster when I put in a few drops of Schultz in the water as well.

You may just have to test it out yourself.

Related: Does Misting Plants Actually Help them {it’s not what you think}

What is Schultz?

Schultz is a Missouri-based manufacturer of gardening products with an extensive range of fertilizers, plant foods, and soils to cater to a diverse selection of plants. From cacti to African violets, roses, and orchids, Schultz produces high-quality food for your entire garden! 

One of the most impressive products in Schultz’s range, though, is the All Purpose 10-15-10 Plant Food Plus. 

Suitable for both indoor and outdoor plants, the Schultz All Purpose liquid plant food provides enough nutrition for just about any type of plant.

With this formula, there’s no need to spend hours on end shopping for and measuring out multiple specific plant food formula every time you need to feed your beautiful plants – just mix and introduce to the soil as instructed, and wait for the results! 

But is this Schultz plant food really as incredible and convenient as it seems, or is it just too good to be true?

Woman pours liquid plant food into a house plant from a watering can

I will be reviewing the Schultz All Purpose 10-15-10 Plant Food Plus, focusing on its most important features to give a real assessment of how well this plant food works, as well as how versatile and easy it is to use so that you can decide if you want to try it.

Without further ado, let’s get into the review! 

Schultz All Purpose 10-15-10 Plant Food Plus Review

Features 

Specifications 

  • Product dimensions: 13 x 8 x 6 inches 
  • Product weight: 14.4 oz 
  • Bottle size: 8 oz 
  • Formula: 10-15-10 

10-15-10 Formula 

The first thing to note about the 10-15-10 Schultz All Purpose Plant Food Plus is that it uses a ratio of 10-15-10 formula.

The separate 2-digit numbers represent percentages of the key macronutrients found in plant foods and fertilizers. These nutrients are Nitrogen, Phosphorus, and Potassium. 

The labeling ‘10-15-10’, therefore, indicates that the formula contains 10% Nitrogen, 15% Phosphorus, and 10% Potassium.

The comparatively high Phosphorus content stimulates growth in all types of plants, so it’s especially useful for plants that take longer to grow or that are kept in less-than-ideal conditions for whatever reason. 

If you’ve purchased plant food before, these numbers may seem a little low to you. After all, some plant foods can have nutrient percentages closer to or in the region of 30%.

However, in order to make this formula suitable for as many plants as possible, nutrient content has to be kept below a certain amount.

This is because feeding a plant too much of any one nutrient can actually have a detrimental effect on a plant’s health, even causing the plant to die in some cases. 

By keeping nutrient percentages slightly lower and increasing the Phosphorus content, Schultz has created a formula that encourages all kinds of plants to grow faster and stronger without providing too much of any substance that might overwhelm more sensitive plants. 

Despite not being overly rich in nutrients, the Schultz All Purpose Plus plant food has yielded positive results for thousands of customers whose testimonies prove the efficacy and benefits of this formula. 

Customers who have used this plant food frequently report seeing visible improvements in the growth and appearance of their plants, with some even going as far as to declare Schultz the best plant food on the market! 

Related: How to Quickly Rehydrate a Wilted Houseplant

Synthetic Formula 

Another thing to bear in mind when it comes to Schultz plant food is that the formula is synthetic, not organic. 

Now, this is not necessarily a bad thing by any means. In fact, synthetic plant food actually has several distinct advantages over organic plant food. 

For one thing, creating plant food synthetically allows for more nutrients to be added to the formula. This means that synthetic formulas often contain higher nutrient percentages than natural formulae, as exemplified by the 20-20-20 All Purpose Plus formula also manufactured by Schultz. 

Additionally, synthetic plant food formula have the benefit of being absorbable almost immediately by the plants to which they are fed. This means that you’re likely to see results more quickly using a synthetic plant food than an organic one.

You can also use synthetic plant food all year round, whereas organic fertilizers are restricted to use during certain seasons (usually autumn) for best results. 

However, many gardeners still prefer to treat their plants with organic plant foods and fertilizers. This is often because of the superior eco-friendly aspect of organic plant food over synthetic varieties.

Some plant owners also fear the potential for chemical damage to their plants by using synthetic formulae. 

While there is no hard evidence that synthetic plant foods are significantly more likely to harm your plants (when used correctly), a very small minority of customer testimonials have reported plant deaths after starting to use this plant food, so it may be wise to stick to organic plant food for particularly sensitive plant species.

Related: How to Prepare Indoor Tropical Plants for the Cold Weather

7-Drop Application 

Schultz’s 10-15-10 All Purpose Plant Food Plus is advertised as a 7-drop formula, which means that the required mix is 7 drops of formula to every quart of water.

This is a relatively small amount that, from the full-sized 8 oz bottle, will enable you to use the product from a single purchase for a long time.

Moreover, the ergonomic and user-friendly dropper makes measuring out the right amount of formula per pint super easy!

This not only helps to make the watering and feeding process less tricky and stressful for you but also ensures that your plants get exactly the right amount of this food on a consistent basis. 

Suitable for Transplanting 

Yet another fantastic function of the All Purpose 10-15-10 Plant Food Plus formula from Schultz is that it’s suitable – and, indeed, ideal – for transplanting and repotting. 

Repotting or transplanting any plant can be a tricky procedure and can have a significant impact (for better or worse) on the health of the plant. 

a person measuring how much liquid plant food, possibly schultz plant food, into a measuring cup for indoor plants

One of the reasons why plants often suffer after repotting or transplanting is that, because most plant soils now contain fertilizer straight out of the bag, gardeners are encouraged not to add any extra fertilizer or plant food for several weeks after the process.

However, due to the change in environment and/or location, plants may initially struggle to thrive. 

Because the All Purpose Plus plant food from Schultz is intended to be used in very diluted amounts and does not have a particularly high nutrient content, it is suitable for transplanting and repotting.

This means that you can continue to feed your plants as instructed even while repotting or transplanting and won’t have to worry about negatively impacting their health. 

Overview 

Advantages 

  • High Phosphorus content for growth 
  • Long-lasting 7-drop formula 
  • Easy-to-use dropper 
  • Ideal for transplanting and repotting 
  • Works all year round 

Disadvantages 

  • The nutrient content is not specific to particular plants 
  • Not organic 

Final Thoughts on Schultz Purpose Liquid Plant Food Plus

From the nutrient content percentages advertised on Schultz’s All Purpose Liquid Plant Food Plus, it’s clear that this plant food is a general source of nutrition formulated to suit many different plants. 

The high Phosphorus content, in particular, promotes fast and strong plant growth that will see your garden blooming in no time.

I especially love that this formula can be used in all seasons and that it’s so easy to measure out.

A single purchase of the full-sized bottle will last you for a long time, and there’s no denying from the customer testimonials that this product produces real and impressive results. 

However, due to the fact that this is all-purpose plant food, it cannot guarantee perfect, specialized nutrition for individual plants as more tailored plant foods (like some of the others in the Schultz range) can.

Additionally, because it’s synthetic rather than organic, the formula is not as eco-friendly as it could be, and it may be too strong for some more sensitive plant varieties. 

Overall, however, I would definitely recommend the Schultz All Purpose Plus 10-15-10 plant food to any green-fingered readers growing a variety of different plants at once.

Not only will your plants thrive but, thanks to the extra time and energy you’ll have on your hands, so will you!

Frequently Asked Questions 

What other plant foods are available from Schultz?

While there’s no denying that having a single, all-purpose plant food for your entire plant collection is very convenient, there are also drawbacks, as I’ve discussed. 
The main disadvantage of using an all-purpose fertilizer or plant food is that the exact optimal nutrient percentages for each plant can’t necessarily be provided, and nutrient percentages for all-purpose fertilizers tend to be slightly lower to avoid over-feeding and potentially harming any plants. 
If providing your plants with the exact quantities of macro and micronutrients required by each species is something you feel strongly about, Schultz has also developed food formula for the following individual plants: 
– African Violet – Schultz African Violet Plus Plant Food 8-14-9
– Cactus Schultz Cactus Plus 2-7-7 liquid Plant Food
– Bloom Schultz Bloom Plus Water Soluble Plant Food 10-54-10
– Tomato – Schultz Water Soluble Tomato Food 17-18-28
– Flower and Vegetable – Schultz SPF48300 Flower & Vegetable Extended Feed 14-14-14 Plant Food
– Rose – Schultz Spf48410 Rose & Flower Slow-Release Plant Food, 15-5-15
– Orchid – Schultz SPF70600 Water Soluble Orchid Food 20-20-15
– Azalea, Camelia, and Rhododendron – Schultz Azalea, Cameillia, Rhododendron, ACR 14-7-7 Slow Release Plant Food
Schultz also manufactures its All Purpose Plus plant food in 20-20-20 and 16-12-12 slow-release formula, so if you have a wide variety of plants with a range of different nutritional requirements, you could either choose the appropriate plant-specific food from the company’s product selection or use the different all-purpose formulae as needed. 

Does Schultz plant food expire? 

I’ve established that an 8 oz bottle of the Schultz Purpose Plus plant food should last you quite a long time (depending on the extent of your garden, of course!) but how long exactly does the formula keep before it goes bad? Is it possible to stretch out your plant food’s use for too long? 
The reassuring answer to this question is that because Schultz plant food is synthetic rather than organic, meaning that it has a much longer shelf life than natural plant food.
While most synthetic plant food does come with an expiry of ‘best before’ date on the packaging, this type of food won’t degrade or become chemically less effective as it gets older, unlike organic foods. 
However, storing synthetic plant food for too long can cause the consistency to become clumpy, making it more difficult to use the dropper provided accurately. If used in the wrong quantities, synthetic fertilizer can damage plants, so this is something to watch out for. 

How do you use Schultz Plant Food?

The steps using to using Schultz Plant Food

1. Shake the plant food bottle to ensure the ingredients are well mixed
2. Fill up this quart size spray bottle with water (rain or distilled)
3. Drop in 7 drops of Schultz Liquid Plant Food Plus by using the measured dropper

When or how often do you apply Schultz Liquid Plant Food?

You can apply this plant food once to twice a month. Depending on the plant, you can add 2-3 drops of Schultz to your quart size or larger watering can and use it whenever your plant is thirsty. I like the second method more because it allows me to never forget to feed the plant. And with only a few drops, I’m not overdoing it.